Inset Day
Please note that OBA will be closed to pupils on Friday 21st October for staff INSET day.

Latest Newsletter

Our newsletter is sent out each week by email.
If you would like to receive these emails, subscribe here.

Dare to Shine at our Academy

Mark Wyss John Rigby
Academy Principal Executive Principal

Dear families, friends and guests of OBA

In 2010, Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy opened as the first academy in Runcorn for students aged 11–18. Since then we have welcomed increasing numbers of students into the OBA family, leading to us currently being the only oversubscribed secondary school in Runcorn.

This is testament to the extraordinary talents and effort of our students and staff, where everyone goes that extra mile to allow our students to shine. Our motto, ‘Dare to shine’, perfectly sums up our core mission; to allow all students to flourish, regardless of circumstance or background. As a result, our students’ achievement has proudly stood above national averages for the last three years.

Our strong specialisms of English, Mathematics and Applied Learning permeate the curriculum and contribute to the vibrancy of the Academy. We provide a warm, innovative learning environment that excites, stimulates and challenges students within a secure and caring community.

As parents ourselves, Mr. Rigby and I understand that examination results are only one element of our young peoples’ success. Our ‘pledge’ guarantees that every student will experience fifteen key cultural, creative and sporting events in their time with us. The Academy also offers a stunning enrichment programme, with than 120 different sessions every week, as well as a superb Saturday Academy schedule that is open to primary school pupils.

We expect the very highest standards of our students, with our simple mantra of ‘work, hard, be nice, look smart’ setting the tone for everyday life at the Academy.

OBA is a warm and happy place to learn and work at – we go the extra mile so that we can all dare to shine.

Welcome to an exciting future for Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy.

Term and Holiday Dates 2016-2017

Term Opens for Students Closes for Students
Autumn 2016

Tuesday 6 September
for Years 7 and 12

Wednesday 7 September
all Year Groups

Thursday 20 October

Half Term: 24 – 28 October 2016
Monday 31 October Friday 16 December
Christmas Holiday 19 December – 2 January 2017
Spring 2017 Tuesday 3 January Friday 10 February
Half Term 13 – 17 February 2017
Monday 20 February Friday 31 March
Easter Holiday 3 – 17 April 2017
Summer 2017 Tuesday 18 April Friday 28 April
Bank Holiday – 1 May 2017
Tuesday 2 May Friday 26 May
Half Term 29 May – 2 June 2017
Monday 5 June Friday 21 July

INSET Days (staff training days, students not in school):-
Monday 05 September 2016
Friday 21 October 2016
Monday 24, Tuesday 25th and Wednesday 26 July 2017


Dates updated: 15/03/16

  • Our weekly newsletter is also sent out by email. If you would like to receive these emails, subscribe here.
    Newsletter Archive


    There’s always lots going on at Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy.
    See our news section to read all about it.


    We have a selection of our fantastic videos available through our YouTube channel.


    Barnfield Avenue,
    WA7 6EP

    Mrs L. Bennett

    Tel: 01928 711 643

    Fax: 01928 701 860